An Exercise in Self-Control

I’m fairly certain that most of you, my followers, are avid readers like me.  In fact, the only one that I know for a fact isn’t is a family member.  (I love you anyways, Grammy!  :D)

But those of you that are bookworms, I thought that you might be able to empathize with this:

I have the hardest time with squirrel-reading.

That is, like a squirrel, or a dog from Up being distracted by a squirrel, I have a tendency to be distracted the next new book I come across.  And so I put down the first book, and move on to the second book.  But then I come across another book, and it too is very shiny-looking, so I put down the second book to move on to the third.  And this happens again.  And again.  And again.  Eventually, I wind up with ten or so books on my “currently reading” list.  It’s really very counterproductive when it actually comes to finishing books.

Of course, the problem is only exacerbated when I walk into a bookstore.  There are just so many books!  (Probably why it’s called a bookstore…)  And then I just have to buy one.  Just one, mind you.  And I’m just so tempted to pick it up right away, even though I’ve determined that I’ll wait until I’ve finished a few other books!

In case you’ve not guessed it already…  I did this tonight.  I went to a Barnes and Noble, and I got a copy of Eragon by Christopher Paolini.  It’s okay, though!  I have not picked it up yet!  …  Yet being the key word there.  But if I can help it, I will do as I have purposes, and I’ll finish a few other books before I read Eragon.  It will require self-control.  It will require steadfastness.  It will require an extreme effort in the way of ignoring my squirrels.  It can be done, though.  I’ve never done it before, but it can be done.  I’m going to try, anyways.

Such, then, are the problems and struggles of this particular bookworm.  I’m kind of hoping that I’m not alone in this.  If I’m not, though, I admire your focus and ability to resist the urge to pick up another book when you’re still working one the first one.  If you are like me, though, I’m sure we can find some squirrely camaraderie in the comments.

6 thoughts on “An Exercise in Self-Control

  1. No empathy from this quarter, my dear. Not only am I a monogamous book reader; I MUST finish a book if I’ve started it. There’s only been once in my whole reading career that I’ve decided to abandon a book.

    Like

  2. I tend to just read one book at a time, as well. I know I’m really bored with a book if I start another before finishing the first! Still, your narrative on how you struggle with this was very entertaining to read!

    P.S. I’m a graduated homeschooler! Awkwardness unite! 😉

    Like

  3. Haha, well I’m glad that you enjoyed it, Lauren! Nicely done with staying focused on just one book at a time!

    Awkwardness unite! Well, if we homeschoolers/graduated homeschoolers didn’t bring at least a little bit of awkwardness to other people’s lives, life in general would be rather dull, wouldn’t it?

    Like

  4. I don’t usually read more than 3 or 4 books at a time. I do like to plan my next reads and set goals to get through my TBR pile….the problem is new, shiny, exciting books keep popping up….and I keep reading them even though they are not what I planned to read next…..and my goals rarely get accomplished. I’m actually doing better this year! Mostly because I am trying to buddy read my goal books. That way I have to answer to someone if I don’t read it. Besides, buddy reading and getting excited about books with some else is really fun!! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

