Camp NaNoWriMo

(Taken from the Camp NaNoWriMo Facebook page.  Most definitely not mine.)

(Taken from the Camp NaNoWriMo Facebook page. Most definitely not mine.)

More than likely, most of you are aware of the amazingly exciting and stressful month-long event coming up this July called Camp NaNoWriMo.  Some of you, I know, are doing it.

But for those of you that don’t know about it, Camp NaNoWriMo is the online “camp” that takes place every April and July.  It’s a modified, potentially easier version of the NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) that takes place in November.  The original NaNoWriMo has a set word-count of 50,000 words for everyone that does it.  Camp NaNoWriMo, on the other hand, has a moveable word count, so you can do more or less than the 50,000 words.  (Hence “potentially easier.”  You can make it a lot harder on yourself, too.)

Also, there are groups called “Cabins” that can hold up to twelve people, other writers.  You can either be sorted into a random cabin, based on preferences (or be completely random, if you’re feeling really brave), or create/become a part of a private cabin, where people are specifically invited to become a part of it.

I did NaNoWriMo last April, and loved it.  I was in a private cabin with an awesome group of fellow writers.  I set my word goal relatively low, but found myself far exceeding it, and made an enormous amount of headway on it.

I wound up loving it so much that I made the decision to do it again this July, despite all of the craziness that I know July is going to hold for me.  I’m getting back together with my fellow Campers from April’s session, and we’re going to be going crazy with the juggling act of high word counts and life in general.

As for my project, I’ll be working on the second draft of my novel Guardian, and am aiming to get at least 35,000 words in.  I’ll keep you posted on how that goes!

How about you lot?  Are you planning on doing July’s Camp?  Have you ever done any of the Camps or NaNoWriMos before?  How did you do?

3 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. I finished my first novel doing Camp. xD It’s awesome. I found I write a lot better with other writers, despite being an introvert… I guess it’s ’cause I can’t see faces. 😛

    Like

    • Oh yeah, I remember that! You had to pull out another novel to work on to meet your word count, didn’t you?

      In any case, I totally get what you mean. Working with other writers helps me a lot, too. Occasionally it’s a distraction, but it’s fun either way.

      Haha, yeah, maybe! Although, I’ve gotta admit, getting a group of writers together sounds like a lot of fun. Imagine the writerly insanity that would produce!

      Like

Leave a Reply

