Writing Until Your Fingers Bleed

There’s only one short week left until Camp NaNoWriMo starts!  No doubt those of you that are doing it are a chaotic jumble of excitement, nervousness, and writerly madness, especially for those of you that are cramming months’ worth of plotting into a single week, trying to get everything ready for the enormous task that is ahead of you!  Chances are you already feel like Camp has begun, your life is becoming so crazy with this!

Last Camp session, I was talking with one of my cabin mates, and I said, “With all the writing we’ll be doing, I wouldn’t be surprised if we wound up with calluses on the ends of our fingers from all the typing!”

She agreed that that would be really neat, and I was honestly considering that that might be a possibility.  Sadly, however, that didn’t happen.  Maybe someday, though!

A month or so later, in May, I was at the CHAP Homeschool Convention, speaking with one of the vendors, Jonathan Brush, about my writing.  And he gave me this bit of advice:

2015-06-16 15.12.37

He told me that this was what I need to be doing.  He told me that I need to be honing my craft so that I got better and better.  He also said that I need to write all kinds of things, forcing myself to stretch beyond the comfortable bounds of fantasy.

Seeing as this is Camp NaNoWriMo, I will, of course, be working on Guardian, and not the other things like Jonathan mentioned.  But hopefully I will write enough during Camp to make my fingers bleed.  Later on, after that, I can get to working on writing other things.

But whether or not you’re doing this Camp session, if you’re a writer, this still applies to you.  I know that it takes a lot of resolve to hit the little red button in the top right-hand corner of the screen when Pinterest’s up.  Believe me, I know.  I’ve wasted a WHOLE lot of time on there myself!  So if you need a procrastination buddy, I’m over here!

Really, though.  Pinterest can wait.  As can pretty much all the other forms of social media.  There are too many tales waiting to be written to waste all that time on other, less important things.

Let the writing commence!

6 thoughts on “Writing Until Your Fingers Bleed

  1. “A chaotic jumble of excitement, nervousness, and writerly madness.” That sounds an awful lot like me right now, haha. I’m not as prepared for this Camp NaNo as I was for last camp, but now that I’m off from school I’ve been spending as much time as I can on plotting. Hopefully I’ll be prepared enough? I like that, write until your fingers bleed (and I LOVE your hand lettering, too). I’ve been wanting to write a historical fiction novel for a long time now, and I know that it will be out of my comfort zone because as much as I love reading historical fiction, writing it is a whole different story. That won’t happen this NaNo, but like you said, I can still focus on writing as much as I can and challenging myself that way so that I continue to grow as a writer. I can’t wait for this session to start-especially because I have the awesomest cabin members ever. *winks*

    Like

Leave a Reply

